Enter your keyword

Aga Elise Range Review

Aga Elise Range Review

Aga Elise Range Review

It’s been about 6 months since we had our range hooked up as part of the big kitchen reno. I’ve had a lot of questions and comments about our show-stopper range so I wanted to do a review. So here you go, an in-depth Aga Elise range review from my perspective. I’m addressing some of the questions I’ve recieved and added some of my own.

This post contains affiliate links. If you make a purchase via my link, I may earn a small commission for the referral at no additional cost to you. Thank you for your support!

Aga Elise Range Review

farmhouse kitchen remodel

What range is that?

We have an Aga Elise 5-element, dual-fuel range in matte black. It features a true convection oven, a 7-mode multi-function oven and a pull-out broiler. Aga’s have been around since the 1920s. The first models were cast iron and were the worlds first ever heat-storage cookers. They were invented in Sweden but manufacturing moved to England in the 1930s where they gained popularity. The original cast-iron versions of the Aga (like the one below) are still made today and come in a variety of color options.

Why did I choose this range?

When it came time for choosing our new kitchen range, I had three priorities: dual oven, gas-powered and pretty to look at.  Originally, I wanted an infamous La Cornue. They are so beautiful but the price tag is steep and would have been $4k more than the Aga, with a longer lead time. Then I found the Aga Elise and it checked all the boxes.  It is less expensive, comes in several color options, and it has a French-inspired look to it. I had never seen an Aga used in kitchen design so I liked that it was unique. Through my research, it seemed that people are pleased with its cooking performance so we decided it was a good fit for us.

Where did you get it?

We purchased our range via Lowes to take advantage of our 10% military discount but it’s also available via Build.com. I purchase the range and the corresponding matte black range hood vent during a 2-day sale during which Lowes was offering an extra 10% off so we saved over $1500 on the pair.

How much did it cost?

The Aga Elise retails for around $10k but I’ve seen it priced $8300-$9100. We scored 20% off saving us a pretty penny.

Do you like it?

YES! I love our range and I have zero regrets. Aside from it being a gorgeous statement piece in the kitchen, the thing is a powerhouse. The convection oven is AMAZING! It cooks so fast and evenly I find myself using it more often than the multi-function oven. We cooked our Thanksgiving turkey in the convection oven and it came out perfectly. It was a learning curve in the beginning because it’s so powerful but we’ve learned to reduce the recommended temperature and cooking time on recipes. We typically reduce the cooking temperature by 10 degrees and cooking time by 5-10 minutes.

Are the ovens large enough?

A few followers were concerned about the size of the ovens and wondered if they are large enough. The answer is yes. I will say, however, that we had to purchase new cookie sheets because the ones we had did not fit. The new cookie sheets are not small by any means and I haven’t yet had an instance where something didn’t fit. The cookie sheet in the image below measures 15.5″ x 11″ and fits well.

What’s up with that little drawer on the top left?

The Aga Elise has two ovens and a pull-out broiler. The broiler rack is adjustable to allow for different distances from the heating element. Admittedly, we’ve only used the broiler a few times but I do think it’s a cool addition. Hubby has cooked beef in the broiler and the fish I prepared was cooked in a flash and came out great. It’s also great for browning, although the multi-function oven has a browning function as well.

Do you miss being able to see inside the oven?

Nope! I’ve learned to really just trust the ovens and let them do their thing. And when we need to check, it’s not a big deal to open the door and peek inside the oven. I definitely prefer the seamless look of the exterior of the range over being able to see inside without opening the oven door.

Is there anything you don’t like about the range?

One burner on the range is a bit testy and requires it be held to the ignite position for about 10 seconds before it will hold a flame. I believe this is something we can get adjusted we just haven’t been in a hurry to do so yet. When we do, we’ll probably adjust the gas output flow too because the “low” setting on the burners is more like a medium-low. Again, not something that has interfered with our cooking and is something that can be modified so it hasn’t been a big deal I just wanted to include that.

Other notes about the Aga Elise:

  • On the bottom right of the range is a storage drawer. The range comes with a wok holder so that’s where I keep it. I haven’t used it yet because I don’t own a wok.
  • We hired out for install. Our gas company converted the range from natural gas to liquid propane (LP) since we don’t have access to natural gas in our area. We had a propane tank installed as part of our kitchen reno in order to have a gas range. However, neither Lowes nor our gas line installers were capable of installing the range. The range has to be somewhat assembled and installed when you receive it so we hired a licensed luxury appliance installation company to do the install and appropriate hookups. It cost $250 and took two guys less than an hour.

Shop Our Kitchen:

There you go, friends! A thorough Aga Elise range review of our experience so far. I’m beyond happy wiht this range and I get compliments from people that come into our home. If you have any additional questions about it let me know and I’ll do my best to answer.

Pin this post for later:

A Review of our Aga Elise Range Cooker

Sign up for our newsletter!

Hey there! I'm Becky, Tampa-based blogger, stylist and design enthusiast. Follow along as we fix up our eclectic farmhouse and inspire you to live a styled life.

Related Posts

Comments (60)

  1. Tia
    Jun 26, 2019

    Hi Becky,
    Thank you so much for your review! I fell in love with AGA Elise a few months ago, but haven’t been able to find much information until now. I do have one question, how do you like the Matte Black? It looks so beautiful, but does it scratch easily? Does it attract dust and fingerprints? How do you clean it?
    Thank you,
    Tia

    • Jun 26, 2019

      Hi Tia! I love the matte black!! The range itself does not scratch easily at all and does not attract dust. The black vent hood does attract dust but I wipe both down with a homemade vinegar spray regularly. I hope that helps!

      • Tia
        Jun 26, 2019

        That does help! Thank you, Becky! I’m going back and forth between ivory and black, I have two little ones and easy clean up is a must 🙂 Congratulations, btw, I hope the third trimester is not too hard on you and you are able to get lots of r and r!

  2. Michael Clohossey
    Nov 26, 2019

    Thanks for this review, Becky, and the accompanying photos. You say that you were able to cook a turkey. I assume it was in the right oven. Do you recall how many pounds the turkey was? We’re looking at Aga stoves but the oven dimensions suggest even the larger right oven might not fit a 25 lb turkey. Your input would be appreciated. While it sounds like you’ve had little problem with this model, have you looked into if there are qualified repair specialists in your area? Thanks for fielding these questions.

    • Dec 1, 2019

      Hi Michael! Our turkey last year was quite large and we didn’t have a problem, I think it was 20lbs. We cooked him in the convection. This year we used the multi-function oven and although it was a smaller turkey it cooked much faster than the typical recommendations. This range is a workhorse! The trick is a turkey roaster pan that fits, we had to change ours out and while it’s tight on the width, I still wouldn’t go back.

      • erin
        Nov 17, 2020

        I’m probably going to purchase this. Can you share which roaster you bought? It’s been my main concern! Thank you for reviewing!

  3. Deena E Mitchell
    Dec 9, 2019

    HI Becky, We are very interested in the induction version of the Elise for our new place (we jhave a traditional cast iron AGA now) and in addition to the smaller oven sizes to what we have now we are also concerned about it not having a self-clean function. We cook — and roast == a lot! Thanks for your input.

    • Dec 9, 2019

      Hi Deena. Thanks for the feedback. That’s definitely something you’ll have to consider. I personally haven’t cleaned my ovens yet other than the drip pans at the bottom. Haha.

  4. kathy Bloom
    Feb 7, 2020

    I just bought an Aga Elise and am having trouble baking cakes. What function do you use? Tried the conventional oven function and it browned the top too much and the bottom was gooey. Thanks
    Kathy

    • Feb 7, 2020

      Hi Kathy! I’m sorry to hear that!! Ours bakes wonderfully but I do adjust the suggested baking temperature down 5-ish degrees and also shorten the cooking time. I use the convection (right side) for all baking, and often a lot of cooking.

  5. Melissa
    Mar 8, 2020

    I have a question about the cooktop on the Aga Elise. How do the burners regulate the heat while cooking? And is there a burner that has a simmer? Or a good low setting that doesn’t scorch the bottom if you want to keep a large pot of soup hot for a while? Thanks! We are considering this model for our kitchen renovation. Have you still continued to enjoyed cooking and baking with your Aga since this post last year?

    • Mar 13, 2020

      Hi Melissa! I am still loving my Aga! There is one burner that is smaller and good for simmering, and the center burner is larger. Once you learn it, it is possible to simmer a pot of soup for a while. You just have to learn it’s intensity and cooking capabilities, which is true for any range.

  6. Beth
    Mar 11, 2020

    Hi
    My name is Beth. I have bought an Elise Aga but, I’m concerned I won’t have enough oven space! I cook a lot and for a lot of people. Do you suggest I put a wall oven in my pantry or do you think just the Elise is enough.
    Thanks for your help

    • Mar 13, 2020

      Hi Beth! I find that I always have enough space. I’m not always cooking for a lot of people so it’s hard to say. The only adjustment I’ve found I have to make is smaller cookie sheets/pans. You still have the same amount of cu ft of oven space, just divided into 2 ovens + the broiler/grill. If you’re worried, maybe a range with a larger “main” oven and a smaller secondary oven would make you more comfortable.

  7. Angela
    Mar 29, 2020

    Hi! How do you like the side hinge oven doors versus the bottom hinges more common in North America? Do they ever swing toward closed and burn your arm when you’re putting things in or taking things out?

  8. Marlo
    Apr 25, 2020

    Thanks for the review! I am wondering if there is a griddle feature that can fit over the burners for pancakes, etc?

    • Apr 26, 2020

      I don’t think Aga makes one that comes with the range but you could easily buy a cast iron griddle that sits on the burners.

  9. Lindsey
    May 6, 2020

    Hi, So glad to have found this blog! Great information! I am looking at the Aga Elise…you mentioned cookie sheets…mine are 17.75″ and I have a 20″ roasting pan….would those fit? I do have a smaller roasting pan as well, so could use that if needed.

    • May 23, 2020

      I defer to the Aga website where you can find detailed information about oven dimensions:
      https://www.aga-ranges.com/sites/default/files/user_guides_uploaded/AGA-Elise-48-Inch-Dual-Fuel-Range-Product-Spec-Sheet-AEL48DF_0.pdf

      • LINDSEY CARLISLE
        Jun 16, 2020

        Thank you!!!!

      • Emily
        Jun 25, 2020

        Hi Becky, We are researching the Aga Elise now for purchasing, but the dimensions on the user guide don’t make sense. They say that the two larger ovens are 17 inches wide by 14 inches deep by 14 1/2 inches high. If they’re only 14 inches deep, that makes the oven only 2 cubic feet instead of 2.8. considering that the full oven unit is 26″ deep from front to back, it seems like that would be a typo. This may be the recommended cooking space within the oven, but can you shed any light on whether the ovens are deeper than listed? I’ve asked a rep, and they just keep sending me the pdf, which isn’t helpful. Any information you can provide is incredibly appreciated!

        • Aug 14, 2020

          They are both more like 16″ deep. The convection is approx 16″ high and 18″ wide. The multi-function oven is approx 14.5″ high b/c the top coil takes up some space. I measured the actual size of the inside, not the doors.

  10. peter clevenger
    May 18, 2020

    Hi. My wife and I are looking at the Elise, but we can;t find out from Aga the actual usable size in inches (Width x height x depth) of each of the larger ovens. Would you have those dimensions?

    Thanks

    Peter

  11. peter clevenger
    May 23, 2020

    becky: hi! love the look of the elise, but can’t find out the actual interior dimensions of the two larger ovens. I’d buy it in a second if I knew they were big enough (h x w x d).

    If you measured, you’d be my wife’s hero!

  12. Andy
    Jun 20, 2020

    Great review!

    A few questions:

    1) did you consider the Aga Mercury? If so why did you choose the Elise?
    2) did you consider the induction cooktop? We’ve been reading about health concerns of gas.
    3) I can’t find anywhere that would service this. What do you plan to do for service?

    Thanks!

    • Jul 9, 2020

      I prefer the antique-y look of the Aga, the Mercury is too modern for our taste and my kitchen. I did not consider induction just because I prefer gas cooking but I know many people love induction! For service, any high-end luxury appliance repair person should be familiar with the Aga. You could try researching to see if there is an Aga dealer in your area, if so call them and see if they can recommend someone to service.

  13. Stacey
    Jun 23, 2020

    Hi! Thanks so much for your review, it’s the only one I can find on the AGA Elise! We love the look and are considering it for our kitchen re-do. I noticed you paired matte black with a stainless fridge, do you like the way they look together? We are keeping our current fridge and dishwasher (both stainless) but I was worried it might look a little disconnected.

    • Jul 9, 2020

      It doesn’t bother me at all! The Aga has stainless accents on the range so it all flows! Nothing wrong with an accent range and stainless appliances 😉

  14. Tara
    Jul 11, 2020

    We have the Aga Elise Induction LOOOOVVVEEE it. Mom of 6 and one of our boys is autistic and coming home finding our gas on was a NIGHTMARE! We did a renovation back 3 almost 4 years ago when we had to have ours shipped in from England. But dealt with a local rep that’s homebase is in MI. We are in GA due to shifting on the boat a few induction rings under the glass had to be replaced. There is a local company that repairs high-end appliances and the repair man said they NEVER have to work on these and that all the women in the l9cal office are saving to get one. Hands down the best purchase ever and wirth ever penny. I will say we lucked out price has gone up we “only” paid 4k. Yes that’s a lot but not compared to what my friend was quoted. Def. read instructions on cooking it can be a learning curve. The other awesome purchase was a GE Advantium oven…it is a microwave, convection, speed cook, broiler you name it it does it. So glad to come across your blog so I can share it with others. Was just telling a sales guy he needs to carry them. Any suggestions on a freezer? We want an upright our sidekick failed weve had two in 4 years I’m done. No more made in China appliances ughhhh. If you can suggest a good one that lasts I need it bad…

    • Aug 14, 2020

      Thanks for your feedback Tara! Glad you’re loving your range!

    • Lex
      Mar 16, 2021

      Hi, Tara! We are also in Georgia but are concerned about needing repairs if we get an AGA. Do you mind me asking where in Georgia you are, who you bought it through, and which local company you use for repairs?

  15. Tara
    Aug 6, 2020

    It really tells you something when this thread continuously gets visited. AGA really needs to share more information. 🙂

    Thank you for your review. I, too, have the exact same range you do. I’ve had it for a year now. We have a continuous issue with water dripping out of the bottom of both ovens. Whenever I open the doors, they dribble water onto my new hardwood floors. Sometimes, the convection oven drips so much, it dribbles water into a little pool in the storage compartment. Have you had this issue?

    I’m terribly disappointed with the AGA customer service as well. I have been going back and forth with them since we got the range. In desperation, I’m dealing with the retailer,, trying to get them to prompt AGA now. The oven creates a great deal of steam, but for whatever reason, that is creating moisture that drips.

    Also, I’ve used the broiler feature twice and both times it started a fire with splash back from the fat in the pan. You haven’t had that issue?

    I am so frustrated with this. I have my “dream range” that we paid a lot of money for and my old KitchenAid worked better.

    • Aug 14, 2020

      Hi Tara, I am so sorry to hear all of this! We haven’t had any of the issues that you mention. In all fairness, we don’t use the broiler very often but I have not had any of these issues. I am sorry to hear Aga isn’t providing better customer service.

  16. sarah
    Sep 17, 2020

    hi Becky, thanks for sharing this review with us! I love the look of the Elise and am considering this or the Ilve Nostalgie (but worried about repair issues) – I wondered if you could confirm that all the knobs and trim on your range are stainless steel – not plastic to look like stainless or anything? I’m assuming not given the price but thought worth checking! Thanks so much

  17. Valerie
    Sep 19, 2020

    We are considering buying an AGA. Does it stay on all the time, and throw heat into the room? If so, is it a problem trying to keep a cool-enough kitchen in summer?

  18. Marline
    Sep 27, 2020

    Hi Becky! Are lights provided inside the oven cavities and, if not, does this make it hard to check for doneness? Also, any feedback on how loud the cooling fan is and how long it stays on after the oven turns off? Can you comment on how long it takes to pre-heat oven to 425? Many thanks!

    • Sep 30, 2020

      Hi there! There are no lights inside the ovens. It drives my husband crazy but I don’t mind so much. I just pull out the rack to check and it doesn’t bother me. The cooling fan is not very loud at all. It takes the convection (left side) oven about 10 mins to heat to 425 but the multi-range oven takes double the time. I hope that is helpful!

  19. Paul
    Nov 19, 2020

    Hi Becky, we just moved in to our new build and had fallen in love with the AGA Elise ordered it and about 2 weeks before we moved in our sales rep said it was on backorder for another 60 days. They since provided us with a Blue-Star range and it works very well. Super powerful. My wife is really liking it. She is now concerned that she might not like the Elise when it finally gets here. I was hoping maybe you have heard any feedback from people whom have a blue star and have seen your Elise. We live in East Tennessee and there are none in stock anywhere with in a few hours drive to go see. I know it’s a long shot but I thought it would not hurt to ask.

    • Nov 30, 2020

      Hi Paul, I’m sorry I have no experience or feedback to share with the Blue Star. Sounds like she’s happy, keep it!

  20. Meg
    Jan 19, 2021

    Hi! Loved your review. We just purchased the same range and are wondering how you like the hood? Is it 44 inches? We are concerned that it’s too small for the 48 inch Elise???

    • Jan 22, 2021

      Hi! In retrospect, we would have gone with a different hood. I don’t love the Aga one. It’s a bit too small and looking back, I prefer a built-in/hidden hood vent. Also, it’s quite loud when on full speed.

    • Meg Woodard
      Mar 19, 2021

      Thanks so much!

  21. Chandra
    Jan 30, 2021

    Hello, thanks for your review! Two questions:
    Is there a proofing drawer?
    I had wanted to purchase a range with brass/ gold knobs; I see you have combined metals- silver on range and brass in fixtures- how do you like that combo?
    Thanks!

    • Feb 2, 2021

      No proofing drawer, just a storage drawer under the convection oven. I am a fan of mixed metals in a kitchen or any space for that matter to add depth and dimension.

  22. Lee
    Feb 26, 2021

    Hi Becky, why about your dishwasher? Do you have SS? My dishwasher is SS and the fridge I’m planning to get the kind behind a cabinet door.

  23. Lee
    Feb 26, 2021

    Sorry, I meant what about your dishwasher? I want the matte black Aga Elise but couldn’t find a floor model to see. The tiny sample the dealer had made the matte black look almost dark dark grey. Do you agree it’s not a true black?

    I’m thinking matte black stove, stainless hood and keep my stainless dishwasher.

    • Mar 3, 2021

      I don’t have experience with other Aga appliances other than the Elise. I have a stainless dishwasher and fridge.

  24. Amy
    Apr 24, 2021

    Would you mind sharing what brand and size of roasting pan you bought? I just got my AGA Mercury installed and none of my ovenware fit. I’m a little surprised on the small size of the ovens. I thought they would be bigger.

  25. Carla
    Jul 7, 2021

    Hello!! I agree with a previous poster that AGA needs to put more information out there. This is by far the most information I can find. I too am struggling to bake. I tried putting a thermometer the oven to check temps (using the multifunction oven) and I found that when set to 325 the oven fluctuation was outside what I think is reasonable. It went from 318 to 365 within a 30min time frame. The oven kicked back on to heat when it had only dropped to 341. Obviously this wide of a range makes consistent baking almost impossible. So far I’ve only tried cookies with various approaches of adjusting time and temperature with no success. I love the look of the Elise but I really need to get a grasp on this. If a you have further suggestions please send them my way, I’m kind of desperate.

    • Jul 13, 2021

      I am so sorry you’ve already done more advanced temperature tracking than I have. I just reduce the temp by 5-10 degrees and cooking time.

  26. Karen
    Oct 16, 2021

    We are having trouble finding someone to assemble this! We are in the Boston area. We got one quote for $600!!

    • Nov 3, 2021

      I’m sorry to hear that. I don’t know how to help. We paid a few hundred. Perhaps search for a few different luxury/high-end appliance techs.

  27. Eric
    Oct 18, 2021

    We have AGA Mercury and love it but like other people are having problems finding a roasting pan that fits. Do you have a link to a turkey roasting pan that you find that fits?

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.