Enter your keyword

Aga Elise Range Review

Aga Elise Range Review

Aga Elise Range Review

It’s been about 6 months since we had our range hooked up as part of the big kitchen reno. I’ve had a lot of questions and comments about our show-stopper range so I wanted to do a review. So here you go, an in-depth Aga Elise range review from my perspective. I’m addressing some of the questions I’ve recieved and added some of my own.

This post contains affiliate links. If you make a purchase via my link, I may earn a small commission for the referral at no additional cost to you. Thank you for your support!

Aga Elise Range Review

farmhouse kitchen remodel

What range is that?

We have an Aga Elise 5-element, dual-fuel range in matte black. It features a true convection oven, a 7-mode multi-function oven and a pull-out broiler. Aga’s have been around since the 1920s. The first models were cast iron and were the worlds first ever heat-storage cookers. They were invented in Sweden but manufacturing moved to England in the 1930s where they gained popularity. The original cast-iron versions of the Aga (like the one below) are still made today and come in a variety of color options.

Why did I choose this range?

When it came time for choosing our new kitchen range, I had three priorities: dual oven, gas-powered and pretty to look at.  Originally, I wanted an infamous La Cornue. They are so beautiful but the price tag is steep and would have been $4k more than the Aga, with a longer lead time. Then I found the Aga Elise and it checked all the boxes.  It is less expensive, comes in several color options, and it has a French-inspired look to it. I had never seen an Aga used in kitchen design so I liked that it was unique. Through my research, it seemed that people are pleased with its cooking performance so we decided it was a good fit for us.

Where did you get it?

We purchased our range via Lowes to take advantage of our 10% military discount but it’s also available via Build.com. I purchase the range and the corresponding matte black range hood vent during a 2-day sale during which Lowes was offering an extra 10% off so we saved over $1500 on the pair.

How much did it cost?

The Aga Elise retails for around $10k but I’ve seen it priced $8300-$9100. We scored 20% off saving us a pretty penny.

Do you like it?

YES! I love our range and I have zero regrets. Aside from it being a gorgeous statement piece in the kitchen, the thing is a powerhouse. The convection oven is AMAZING! It cooks so fast and evenly I find myself using it more often than the multi-function oven. We cooked our Thanksgiving turkey in the convection oven and it came out perfectly. It was a learning curve in the beginning because it’s so powerful but we’ve learned to reduce the recommended temperature and cooking time on recipes. We typically reduce the cooking temperature by 10 degrees and cooking time by 5-10 minutes.

Are the ovens large enough?

A few followers were concerned about the size of the ovens and wondered if they are large enough. The answer is yes. I will say, however, that we had to purchase new cookie sheets because the ones we had did not fit. The new cookie sheets are not small by any means and I haven’t yet had an instance where something didn’t fit. The cookie sheet in the image below measures 15.5″ x 11″ and fits well.

What’s up with that little drawer on the top left?

The Aga Elise has two ovens and a pull-out broiler. The broiler rack is adjustable to allow for different distances from the heating element. Admittedly, we’ve only used the broiler a few times but I do think it’s a cool addition. Hubby has cooked beef in the broiler and the fish I prepared was cooked in a flash and came out great. It’s also great for browning, although the multi-function oven has a browning function as well.

Do you miss being able to see inside the oven?

Nope! I’ve learned to really just trust the ovens and let them do their thing. And when we need to check, it’s not a big deal to open the door and peek inside the oven. I definitely prefer the seamless look of the exterior of the range over being able to see inside without opening the oven door.

Is there anything you don’t like about the range?

One burner on the range is a bit testy and requires it be held to the ignite position for about 10 seconds before it will hold a flame. I believe this is something we can get adjusted we just haven’t been in a hurry to do so yet. When we do, we’ll probably adjust the gas output flow too because the “low” setting on the burners is more like a medium-low. Again, not something that has interfered with our cooking and is something that can be modified so it hasn’t been a big deal I just wanted to include that.

Other notes about the Aga Elise:

  • On the bottom right of the range is a storage drawer. The range comes with a wok holder so that’s where I keep it. I haven’t used it yet because I don’t own a wok.
  • We hired out for install. Our gas company converted the range from natural gas to liquid propane (LP) since we don’t have access to natural gas in our area. We had a propane tank installed as part of our kitchen reno in order to have a gas range. However, neither Lowes nor our gas line installers were capable of installing the range. The range has to be somewhat assembled and installed when you receive it so we hired a licensed luxury appliance installation company to do the install and appropriate hookups. It cost $250 and took two guys less than an hour.

Shop Our Kitchen:

There you go, friends! A thorough Aga Elise range review of our experience so far. I’m beyond happy wiht this range and I get compliments from people that come into our home. If you have any additional questions about it let me know and I’ll do my best to answer.

Pin this post for later:

A Review of our Aga Elise Range Cooker

Sign up for our newsletter!

Becky

Hey there! I'm Becky, Tampa-based blogger, stylist and design enthusiast. Follow along as we fix up our eclectic farmhouse and inspire you to live a styled life.

Related Posts

Comments (27)

  1. Avatar
    Tia
    Jun 26, 2019

    Hi Becky,
    Thank you so much for your review! I fell in love with AGA Elise a few months ago, but haven’t been able to find much information until now. I do have one question, how do you like the Matte Black? It looks so beautiful, but does it scratch easily? Does it attract dust and fingerprints? How do you clean it?
    Thank you,
    Tia

    • Becky
      Jun 26, 2019

      Hi Tia! I love the matte black!! The range itself does not scratch easily at all and does not attract dust. The black vent hood does attract dust but I wipe both down with a homemade vinegar spray regularly. I hope that helps!

      • Avatar
        Tia
        Jun 26, 2019

        That does help! Thank you, Becky! I’m going back and forth between ivory and black, I have two little ones and easy clean up is a must 🙂 Congratulations, btw, I hope the third trimester is not too hard on you and you are able to get lots of r and r!

  2. Avatar
    Michael Clohossey
    Nov 26, 2019

    Thanks for this review, Becky, and the accompanying photos. You say that you were able to cook a turkey. I assume it was in the right oven. Do you recall how many pounds the turkey was? We’re looking at Aga stoves but the oven dimensions suggest even the larger right oven might not fit a 25 lb turkey. Your input would be appreciated. While it sounds like you’ve had little problem with this model, have you looked into if there are qualified repair specialists in your area? Thanks for fielding these questions.

    • Becky
      Dec 1, 2019

      Hi Michael! Our turkey last year was quite large and we didn’t have a problem, I think it was 20lbs. We cooked him in the convection. This year we used the multi-function oven and although it was a smaller turkey it cooked much faster than the typical recommendations. This range is a workhorse! The trick is a turkey roaster pan that fits, we had to change ours out and while it’s tight on the width, I still wouldn’t go back.

  3. Avatar
    Deena E Mitchell
    Dec 9, 2019

    HI Becky, We are very interested in the induction version of the Elise for our new place (we jhave a traditional cast iron AGA now) and in addition to the smaller oven sizes to what we have now we are also concerned about it not having a self-clean function. We cook — and roast == a lot! Thanks for your input.

    • Becky
      Dec 9, 2019

      Hi Deena. Thanks for the feedback. That’s definitely something you’ll have to consider. I personally haven’t cleaned my ovens yet other than the drip pans at the bottom. Haha.

  4. Avatar
    kathy Bloom
    Feb 7, 2020

    I just bought an Aga Elise and am having trouble baking cakes. What function do you use? Tried the conventional oven function and it browned the top too much and the bottom was gooey. Thanks
    Kathy

    • Becky
      Feb 7, 2020

      Hi Kathy! I’m sorry to hear that!! Ours bakes wonderfully but I do adjust the suggested baking temperature down 5-ish degrees and also shorten the cooking time. I use the convection (right side) for all baking, and often a lot of cooking.

  5. Avatar
    Melissa
    Mar 8, 2020

    I have a question about the cooktop on the Aga Elise. How do the burners regulate the heat while cooking? And is there a burner that has a simmer? Or a good low setting that doesn’t scorch the bottom if you want to keep a large pot of soup hot for a while? Thanks! We are considering this model for our kitchen renovation. Have you still continued to enjoyed cooking and baking with your Aga since this post last year?

    • Becky
      Mar 13, 2020

      Hi Melissa! I am still loving my Aga! There is one burner that is smaller and good for simmering, and the center burner is larger. Once you learn it, it is possible to simmer a pot of soup for a while. You just have to learn it’s intensity and cooking capabilities, which is true for any range.

  6. Avatar
    Beth
    Mar 11, 2020

    Hi
    My name is Beth. I have bought an Elise Aga but, I’m concerned I won’t have enough oven space! I cook a lot and for a lot of people. Do you suggest I put a wall oven in my pantry or do you think just the Elise is enough.
    Thanks for your help

    • Becky
      Mar 13, 2020

      Hi Beth! I find that I always have enough space. I’m not always cooking for a lot of people so it’s hard to say. The only adjustment I’ve found I have to make is smaller cookie sheets/pans. You still have the same amount of cu ft of oven space, just divided into 2 ovens + the broiler/grill. If you’re worried, maybe a range with a larger “main” oven and a smaller secondary oven would make you more comfortable.

  7. Avatar
    Angela
    Mar 29, 2020

    Hi! How do you like the side hinge oven doors versus the bottom hinges more common in North America? Do they ever swing toward closed and burn your arm when you’re putting things in or taking things out?

  8. Avatar
    Marlo
    Apr 25, 2020

    Thanks for the review! I am wondering if there is a griddle feature that can fit over the burners for pancakes, etc?

    • Becky
      Apr 26, 2020

      I don’t think Aga makes one that comes with the range but you could easily buy a cast iron griddle that sits on the burners.

  9. Avatar
    Lindsey
    May 6, 2020

    Hi, So glad to have found this blog! Great information! I am looking at the Aga Elise…you mentioned cookie sheets…mine are 17.75″ and I have a 20″ roasting pan….would those fit? I do have a smaller roasting pan as well, so could use that if needed.

  10. Avatar
    peter clevenger
    May 18, 2020

    Hi. My wife and I are looking at the Elise, but we can;t find out from Aga the actual usable size in inches (Width x height x depth) of each of the larger ovens. Would you have those dimensions?

    Thanks

    Peter

  11. Avatar
    peter clevenger
    May 23, 2020

    becky: hi! love the look of the elise, but can’t find out the actual interior dimensions of the two larger ovens. I’d buy it in a second if I knew they were big enough (h x w x d).

    If you measured, you’d be my wife’s hero!

  12. Avatar
    Andy
    Jun 20, 2020

    Great review!

    A few questions:

    1) did you consider the Aga Mercury? If so why did you choose the Elise?
    2) did you consider the induction cooktop? We’ve been reading about health concerns of gas.
    3) I can’t find anywhere that would service this. What do you plan to do for service?

    Thanks!

    • Becky
      Jul 9, 2020

      I prefer the antique-y look of the Aga, the Mercury is too modern for our taste and my kitchen. I did not consider induction just because I prefer gas cooking but I know many people love induction! For service, any high-end luxury appliance repair person should be familiar with the Aga. You could try researching to see if there is an Aga dealer in your area, if so call them and see if they can recommend someone to service.

  13. Avatar
    Stacey
    Jun 23, 2020

    Hi! Thanks so much for your review, it’s the only one I can find on the AGA Elise! We love the look and are considering it for our kitchen re-do. I noticed you paired matte black with a stainless fridge, do you like the way they look together? We are keeping our current fridge and dishwasher (both stainless) but I was worried it might look a little disconnected.

    • Becky
      Jul 9, 2020

      It doesn’t bother me at all! The Aga has stainless accents on the range so it all flows! Nothing wrong with an accent range and stainless appliances 😉

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.